What causes BPD? Linehan Theory – Part 4

Continuing my 4 Part series of Dr. Linehan’s theory I’ll now explore Unremitted crisis vs. Inhibited grief.
Unremitted crisisuninterrupted; constant, unpardoned (as a sin) feeling that a condition of instability or danger leading to a decisive change which the trend of all future events, esp. for better or for worse, is determined by a dramatic emotional or circumstantial upheaval in a person’s life. Steadily maintained.

Ok, yes. Especially with my depression and trying to hold onto the thought that people care about me and aren’t going to leave, I always feel like I’m struggling to hold on. Everything feels dire or like there’s impending doom whether it’s externally perceived or battling my own internal thoughts and feelings. I NEED to understand what’s happening and what’s more I need those that care for me to understand, intervene, be there for me to lean on if I need.
What’s more I often feel like people won’t forgive me for any small infraction. I get worked up if I’ve done anything wrong and have a nearly fatalistic attitude that people will walk out of my life. Dissolving in a puddle of self doubt until I can prove that I am not a bad person. Again, this has to do with my inability to believe that one action does not negate all previous actions. That people take me as a whole series of our interactions not just single episodes. I can’t say this is completely unjustified though. I have had people, people that I was very close too, walk out of my life at the first infraction (however big), or once a single mistake was made all further actions were then in question and I was made to feel like I wouldn’t be forgiven no matter what I did to make up for it. While this may be true, it’s not entirely unjustified, but now it permeates my experiences with people.
Fortunately my current apartment and roommate are a safe haven for me, I have some reprieve from the constant upheaval. Some, not always, but it’s at least a calm environment.

Inhibited grief – to restrain, hinder, arrest, or check keen mental suffering or distress over affliction or loss; sharp sorrow; painful regret.

Definitely. I’m at constant odds whether I have a right to feel the way I do about any given situation. I don’t understand what I’m allowed to expect or what I deserve from other people so I constantly question whether my emotional responses are appropriate. Do people really owe me anything? What can I actually expect of them? What do I deserve from people when I need help? Do I have a right to impinge on their time and divert their attention from what they were doing? Especially if it’s from a loss. I’m sure things are often my fault, guilt, and I don’t know if I have the right to believe/expect that others should work things out with me. If I don’t have the right, then my feelings aren’t justified and I need to hold them in. But when I know something isn’t entirely my fault, I feel absolutely no remorse if the contributing party isn’t willing to communicate with me. Black or white.
I may want to pursue the topic, push someone to work things through with me but I restrain myself for feeling like I have no right to do so. I hold back and wait. Which only causes me to get more anxious and allows my thoughts to wander down all the possibilities that may be going through their minds and often come to the worst conclusions in my own mind. I feel the loss, sadness, over something that hasn’t even occurred yet. Or may never occur at all. I can’t quiet the distress that it creates and suffer for it in silence being unable to decide if I’m allowed to pursue a solution just to make myself feel better. Then I regret not being able to rectify whatever it was that occurred. This cycles back to making myself feel guilty for something that may or may not be my fault.
Leave a Reply

