We interrupt our normally scheduled program for a brief Announcement

Remember a couple weeks back I applied for a job at one of the most innovative R & D labs? Well…
I got the job!
I’m incredibly excited. I get to be a real engineer again. I’ll be doing FEA modeling, structural analysis and hands on laboratory testing. This is exactly what I should be doing with my college degrees. Well, almost. If I was doing this for the space program than it would really be EXACTLY what I went to school for, but this is the next best thing. I negotiated up the pay scale. The job includes full benefits, 401k, decent sick and vacation time and full access to the campus facilities and recreational bonuses.
I’m still in a bit of shock. This is better than I dared to hope for. And I maintain my perfect track record for interviews =)
If I wasn’t so sick and exhausted right now I’d probably be bouncing off the walls hypomanic style.
Evil Genius brainwaves ACTIVATE!

EDIT: I am very optimistic about this new opportunity. In a previous post I discuss Identity Disturbance. For me this means my professional identity is radically different than my baseline identity. This is both good and bad. Bad because, it generally leaves me with something of a dissociated attachment to myself and a detachment from my emotions because I do not connect with the person I think I’m supposed to be. Good, because in my detachment, my rational mind is uninhibited and I can excel professionally (and academically when I was in school). In essence, it is possible to take advantage of my disorder and, at times, make it work for me.  The environment for this job is much more innovative than my previous jobs, so I can potentially maintain a more solid grip on my identity while maintaining my professionalism. It gives me a lot of hope that, if I can control my emotions in one setting, there is also hope that I will be able to gain control of them in all other aspects of my life. Further proof that it is possible to be functional and successful, even if I’m struggling with so many things elsewhere. 

By Haven Posted in work

4 comments on “We interrupt our normally scheduled program for a brief Announcement

  1. Haven, congratulations. Sounds like something from a sci-fi movie. If you need a test subject for the installation of mechanical body parts, I'll be you Guinea Pig. 🙂

Leave a Reply

