Borderline Personality Disorder Facts and Stats Part 4


Continuing on, here are some more relevant statistics concerning BPD. I’ll most likely take a more in depth look at some of these in future posts. 

– 50% experience Clinical Depression 

Surprise? Personally I think this statistic is low.  Well, depression is different from Clinical depression, so maybe it’s not incorrect. I think the statistics for people suffering from depression are much, much higher. Clinical depression is long term. It doesn’t last a few days, or a few weeks. It last for months and years. Never seeming to dissolve into something normal and pleasant. Fortunately for those that suffer with depression there is medicinal help. Thus far there is no prescription cure all for Borderline Personality Disorder, however it is possible, and recommended, to work on the specific symptoms. I’ve had pretty decent success with the medication I’ve tried in regards to helping regulate my depression and anxiety. I have had trouble balancing the beneficial effects of anti-depressants and anti-psychotics with the resultant side effects. The current medication I’m on does seem to be helping, without any unpleasant side effects, though my psych and I are still working to figure out the proper dose.

– BPD is treatable with medication initially and psychodynamic therapy complimented with dialectical behavior therapy (DBT). Therapy without proper medications is not recommended by many Drs. in this field.

From my own experience, one without the other has not been incredibly effective. That’s not to say that if only one is available it won’t help at all, something is always better than nothing. As I just stated, there is no medical cure for BPD. However BPD generally consists of a lot of co-morbid symptoms. While the overall issue can’t be medicated, things like depression and general anxiety are a result of synopsis in the brain that may not be functioning properly. With medication it is possible to lessen these problems if not correct them completely. While it’s not a total cure, it does make working on the other problems much more manageable. Part of what is absolutely necessary for treating BPD is learning to manage the deeply ingrained psychological behaviors. Especially if there is a history of trauma and abuse, learning to heal from these events and developing mechanisms to allow you to cope in the future is very important. This is the whole point of therapy. Learning and understanding the base motivators for our actions provides the tools to prevent or counteract these problems in the future. Without understanding ourselves, it makes it very difficult to function in a world that doesn’t experience the way we do.  I’m not currently doing DBT, my therapist focuses more on Cognitive Behavioral Therapy, but that doesn’t change the fact that the work we do is a necessary compliment to my medication.

– Many clinicians refuse to treat BPD/ERD.

People with Borderline Personality Disorder have the stigma of being very uncontrollable and very unpredictable. This coupled with the tendency to display many co-morbid symptoms makes BPD seem like a larger task that will require a greater amount of treatment that may seem insurmountable. But let’s face it, if a clinician is not prepared, incapable, or unsympathetic to the needs of someone with BPD, they are clearly the wrong medical professional for the job. We deserve someone that understands this problem and is not going to stigmatize us as individuals because we may present a challenge or there is general prejudice. It makes me angry that those of us that may need the most help, may also have the hardest time finding the help they need.  

I can’t speak for this though. I have had none of these problems, and to me, that is VERY encouraging. From my experience I know that it is very likely and absolutely possible to find doctors and therapists that are more than willing to work with those with BPD.  My psychiatrist diagnosed me relatively quickly but was not deterred in the least. He immediately dove into my options, and while recognizing that there was not one overarching medical cure, he is optimistic that we can treat many of the major symptoms. He also strongly recommended that I work with my therapist, whom I see twice a week. I will say I was hesitant to tell my therapist that my psych diagnosed me with BPD. On the one hand I didn’t want to influence her own opinions, and on the other, I was a little worried that she would not want to continue working with me. In the end I recognized that it doesn’t help me, or allow for her to provide me with the best options, if I held back. Again, she was also not deterred. She knew about every single one of my issues and symptoms from the start so adding one more label to things didn’t change anything as far as she was concerned. I haven’t seen my current therapist for too terribly long, but I am confident that I have found people that are willing to work with me and see me through this ordeal. So don’t be discouraged! There is help out there =)
11 comments on “Borderline Personality Disorder Facts and Stats Part 4

  1. ::shrug:: One way or another I suppose. It's better to leave them before they have the chance to leave me. I tend to do stuff too, stuff I know I shouldn't, or want for me despite what other people might want. Makes it easier for people to leave, gives them an out of my choosing. At least it's something I know I did than them deciding I'm not worth it on the whole.

  2. I have a lot of reasons to fear people abandoning me. I've had a lot of loss in my life, people that have done stuff to me, that would do that kind of stuff to me in the first place, that I've had to walk away from, or left because of things beyond my ability to control or be sympathetic to. I also have a dissociative disorder and lack of object constancy that makes it almost impossible for me to hold onto the belief that people remember me when I'm not in their physical presence. It very much feel like 'out of sight' forgotten from their life, no longer connected to mine. My head is a lonely place to be lost in. People can be replaced, but for me it takes a long time to make the decision if I want to allow it. The closer people are to you, the easier it is to drive in the knife. I have more of an Eastern philosophical sense of ego, so I'm not so worried about having that stroked. I am the center of my world because without me I would have no awareness of the universe, but my place in it is small, and only important to me and those that appear to care for me.

  3. I have (like most at SW) self diagnosed myself as a narcissist, i have all the criteria and they say that you only need three to be diagnosed, so having all of the traits is quite rare and even severe. Just as your BPD causes you much distress, my narcissism does quite the same.I don't see anyone outside myself, i ruthlessly bully my friends family and even my pets, I think i need therapy but i have a really hard time showing any weakness or modesty, you may have similar issues, but for me to show modesty is painful on a whole other level, it's like death. In general i become abusive when people show me kindness or when they are most confortable with me, i despise intimacy, i dislike it so much that i think it will always be like that.Friends and family are drawn to me as i don't give them any of my time, the constant playing hard to get makes them want my attention more and more. I'd never ask for help in person but since I'm anonymous now, i thought fuck it, so what do you reccomend?

  4. Hmm… I have the similar problems showing weakness and modesty (though this doesn't feel like death to me). I feign modesty when it suits me and brings about a desired reaction from someone. It's more a manipulation than anything. I hate asking for help, and I admitting that I have any form of weakness, let alone show it. I guess the first thing you need to do is ask yourself if you want to keep living like this? You despise intimacy, but it seems like you believe this is a problem. If you don't ever want any kind of intimacy, you pretty much have to cut people out of your life altogether. This option sucks. If you want this to change, that's a decision you can make. Once you've made a decision you have options you can work with. For me it became an issue of: I don't want to keep living like this, but despite nearly 17 years of trying to 'fix' myself on my own, I wasn't making the kind of progress necessary to live a life that allowed me to be happy. I'm still not there yet, but I'm getting there. I fought therapy and medication since I was 12 years old, thinking it was just that, an admission of weakness to allow someone else into my world in order to help me. But after fighting so long with myself, I realized it wasn't weakness, just stubbornness; that my desire to change my life was more important than rigidly adhering to something that wasn't helping me. I'm still not a huge fan of medication, but I realize that there is something wrong with my personal chemistry and drugs help to an extent. This may not be your case though. Therapy has done more for me and helps me make long term changes that are to my ultimate benefit. I'd say first, educate yourself (which you seem to be doing already if you've come to conclusions on your own). And see what kind of options you have. I'm an advocate of therapy so the next recommendation I could give would be to find a psych/therapist that specializes in the field of your suspicions. Someone that meshes with your personality and is equipped to work with you on your specific needs. Stick with it and don't be discouraged if it seems to be taking a while. Personality disorders don't fix overnight. Something about therapy that might appeal to you is, therapy is all about you. It's not about the therapist, it's not about the people in your life, it's about you and how you relate to the world. Through understanding this, you can begin to make changes to live a life more beneficial to your own desires, that may also have the affect of benefiting the relationships you have as well. If you want to live a life that is different from what you are currently experiencing, looking for external assistance isn't weakness, it's cultivating the tools you need to increase the fulfillment of your own life.

  5. I think NPD and BPD are similar in some aspects, the difference is that a borderline usually seeks relationships and likes that warmth whilst the narcissist avoids intimacy, and of course the narcissist is never at risk of self injury.

  6. I completely understand you and everything you are going through. I am in the same boat. My head is also a very lonely place to be lost in. I hope your treatment turns out well. I start in a couple days for mine. You are very brave, yet risky (as a symptom I suppose), to share all of this information online to perfect strangers.

Leave a Reply

